top of page

casting your care


Everyday, I am worried about something new. I haven't turned in all of my assignments, I should practice more for the extracurriculars I'm in, and my clothes don't seem to fit right or be the most stylish in light of recent fads. When I finally think everything is working out perfectly, reality hits, and stress and anxiety deeply root themselves into my thoughts and eventually my actions. Life seems to be on the edge of a precipice known as difficulty.


When I let thoughts like these consume my mind, they show up in how I react to others and what I do each day. The friend I would usually be there for I have to ignore because "I have problems of my own"; The opportunity I would normally take on becomes a burden instead of a blessing; the feeling I get when thinking of the future is no longer hope but despair.


There's a song we sing in worship that, I have to admit, I've too often sang hypocritically. The words "I have decided to follow Jesus" can't ring true when my hope is overcome by worry. The song is so right: putting Christ first is a decision, and it takes conscious effort and constant restraint. There's "no turning back" when Christ is number one in your life, and that means - no matter how hard it may be - to leave the cares and worries of this world behind. It means that one missed assignment, a few hobbies gone awry, or some displeasing outfits cannot take over the part of your mind that should be centered on the ultimate goal: pleasing Christ and longing for eternity with Him. Many people take 1 Peter 5:7 by itself and talk about how God can lift your burdens if you let Him. This is true, but looking at the surrounding verses gives it such a deeper meaning.


Verse 5,

"Likewise you younger people, submit yourselves to your elders. Yes, all of you be submissive to one another, and be clothed with humility, for

“God resists the proud,

But gives grace to the humble.”

6 Therefore humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you in due time, 7 casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you.

8 Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour.

9 Resist him, steadfast in the faith, knowing that the same sufferings are experienced by your brotherhood in the world.

10 But may the God of all grace, who called us to His eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after you have suffered a while, perfect, establish, strengthen, and settle you.

11 To Him be the glory and the dominion forever and ever. Amen." NKJV


So, we should listen to the people in the church who know best, and not be stubborn about it (vs. 5); we should take what God has commanded and respect and follow it so that we can receive the blessings He so freely gives to us (vs. 6); we should trust in Him and know He will carry our fears and burdens if we let Him (vs. 7); we should be aware of the devil's traps that can easily draw us away from God (vs. 8); we should know we are not alone in our problems and worries (vs. 9); we should be grateful that God is making us stronger and better through our transient problems (vs. 10); and we should be confident in knowing that God, our Creator and Almighty Lord, is the one on whom we lean. Sure, verse seven alone is powerful, but, in context, it means so much more. By committing to Christ and trying not to sin, you are lifting most of your stress anyways. The devil places enticing things in front of you every day, but, once you give in, the consequences of sin cause you to suffer. The "sufferings" come to all of us (our sin affects even those around us living righteously), but, when we cast our cares on Him, He will deliver us from the pain and suffering of today. Even if the relief is not immediate - not physical, even - we know that by staying on the righteous path, we will no longer be afflicted by the fleeting problems of the world when we spend eternity with our King and our family in Christ.


46 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page